Find another reason why

“I need to take some time to clear my mind – to find another reason why. Sometimes you got to get lost if you wanna be found”. These utterances are many times thrown around as if it is the only way to find your true purpose. Indeed this type of notion or need is one of the ways to find yourself – no doubt.

“Nobody knows how to say goodbye, it seems so easy until you try”. That, right there, is another way.

For me to say goodbye is heart wrenching. Good bye my love, goodbye my children, good bye my grandchildren, good bye my colleagues, good bye my staff. I am in a wonderfully blessed position to say goodbye to my closest loved ones only to have to say goodbye soon to those I temporarily left my loved ones for. My life is about saying goodbye, and it is never easy, even if I try.

It doesn’t have to be about finding another reason why, but rather realising your reason why. If indeed it is not easy to say goodbye, just maybe that is your reason why. Your reason why could be to appreciate those who appreciate you, love you, admire you, motivate you and give you a reason why. When feelings of saudade overwhelms you while alone for a while, the answer is right there. The something or someone causing longing or melancholy at that moment is your “reason why” – your true purpose.

Africa has a way to reform and refine you. Africa forces you to rethink your purpose, your “reason why“. For me that purpose, that “reason why” manifested in the many good byes that comes with it.

Leave a comment